Dragon Award winners

Land of Mine, directed by the Danish director Martin Zandvliet, won the Dragon Award Best Nordic Film on Saturday evening. The prize sum is one million SEK, which makes it one of the world’s largest film prizes.

Below you can see all the winners awarded with prizes at the Göteborg Film Festival’s Dragon Award gala.



Land of Mine directed by Martin Zandvliet won the festival’s grand prize, Dragon Award Best Nordic Film. The award is financed by Volvo Car Group, Region Västra Götaland and the City Council of Gothenburg.

Land of Mine tells the story of a forgotten part of Danish history: how German prisoners of war were allowed to stay after the war and clear the Danish beaches of mines Germans had planted there.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a film which shows the tragic cycles of war, when the winners adopt the brutal techniques of the losers. A very intense, suspensful and beautiful film, which depicts the exploitation of children swept into war and that uncovers new facts about postwar Denmark. The winner of The Dragon Award Best Nordic Film 2016 is Land of Mine, by Martin Zandvliet.

This year’s jury was composed of the director Laurie Anderson, actress Saga Becker, director Christian Braad Thomsen, screenwriter and producer Sigurjón Kjartansson, photographer Anna Myking and the executive director of the Helsinki International Film Festival Sara Norberg.

Land of Mine has also been given an award by Scandinavian Locations. 



This year’s Dragon Award for best documentary has been awarded to Jerzy Sladkowski for his film Don Juan.

A film about 22-year-old Oleg, who lives with his mother, Marina, in Nizhny Novgorod. Maria is open with her opinion that Oleg does not live up to her expectations of how a real man is supposed to be, because she thinks he’s an autistic slacker. Aiming to make a better life for him and at the same time make him more “normal” she signs him up for a number of different treatments, the one more unconventional and surprising than the other.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a captivating story with an unforgettable main character. It is sharp and confident. Modern and at the same time grounded in a classical documentary tradition.The filmmaker has chosen to depict a sensitive persons struggle in a dysfunctional and conservative Russia. In a film that makes us ask the question: What is normal?  The winner of The Dragon Award Best Nordic Documentary 2016 is Don Juan, by Jerzy Sladkowski.

This year’s jury consisted of the directors Anna Eborn and Carl Javér as well as the producer Ingvil Giske.

The jury wants to give a Honorary Mention to a film where brave artistic choices are seen in cinematography, sound design, editing and directing. The Honorary Mention goes to I Remember When I Die, by Maria Bäck.




This year’s Ingmar Bergman award for best debut goes to Lost and Beautiful by Pietro Marcello.

The shepherd Tommaso has decided to take care of a dilapidated palace in Campania in southern Italy. When Tommaso dies the Commedia dell’arte character Pulcinella is summoned there to fulfill his last wish—to save the bull calf Sarchiapone. Together they head off on a trip through a breathtakingly wonderful Italy, but also an Italy addled with corruption and ignorance.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to this film for its stunning elegiac vision, its generosity of spirit, reigniting our faith in humanity during cynical times, and for its meaningful update of cinema. The winner of The Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award 2016 is Lost and Beautiful by Pietro Marcello.

This year’s jury was composed of the director Athina Rachel Tsangari, the music supervisor Mary Ramos and the director Kristian Petri.




This year the Sven Nykvist award for cinematographers goes to Petrus Sjövik for The Model.

The jury’s motivation: The award for cinematography goes to a film that radically reverses the roles of model and photographer. Without using the seductive visual language of the French fashion scene, the cinematography persistently presents an everyday life. The dream is to be the face of Chanel – and the forceful, intentional and analytical camera work mirrors a strong determination to make it as a model. The winner of The Sven Nykvist Cinematography Award 2016 is: Petrus Sjövik for The Model.

The award’s jury was the same as in the Best Nordic Film category.




This year’s FIPRESCI award goes to Rúnar Rúnarsson for Sparrows

The prize is handed out by the International Federation of Film Critics and goes to one of the films in the competition Dragon Award Best Nordic Film.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to an honest, unpredictable and beautifully crafted film about adolescents growing up in a small community subject to generational clashes. The winner of The Fipresci Award 2016 is Sparrows by Rúnar Rúnarsson.

The jury included Blagoja Kunovski (Macedonia), Maria Ulfsak-Seripova (Estonia) and Jon Asp (Sweden). 




The 2016 Lorens Award goes to Emma Åkesdotter Ronge, producer of this year's opening film Yarden.

The jury's motivation: The award goes to a producer who demonstrates a lot of courage and a strong intuition above the ordinary. In a well executed and consistent film with a strong internal drive, the harsh reality is portrayed with a unique artistic expression that blooms into poetry. The winner of the Lorens Award 2016 is: Emma Åkesdotter Ronge, for Yarden

The jury consisted of Ali Boriri, STOPP, Rebecka Lafrenz, producer and Sara Norberg, Helsinki International Film Festival. 

The Second Mother by Anna Muylaert was awarded the Public Choice Award for best feature film. During the festival week, the audience will vote for their favourite feature film. At the 2016 Dragon Awards, the Brazilian director Anna Muylaert was given the Public Choice Award for best feature film for The Second Mother. Muylaert has also visited Gothenburg during the festival. 

Welcome to Norway! by Rune Denstad Langlo was awarded the Public Choice Award for best Nordic film. Welcome to Norway was one of the nominees in this year's Dragon Award Best Nordic Film competition and was awarded the Public Choice Award for best Nordic film.



Since 1999 Doris Film works to promote gender equality in the film industry. The annual Doris Film Genius Award highlights a female film genius and the prize amount is 10 000 SEK.
The 2016 Doris Film Genius is Lisa Holmqvist for her music in the movie Flocken.

A new prize that is given to a young filmmaker who participates in this years short film program. Instituted by the director Andreas Öhman and Göteborg Film Festival.

2016 years winner is Mikael Bundsen.


Nordic Honorary Dragon Award went to Susanne Bier who received it at a Master Class on January 30. The Honorary Dragon Award was given to Tom Hooper who received the distinction at Stora Teatern on February 3.

This year’s Best Swedish Short winners were Maximilien Van Aertryck and Axel Danielson for the film Ten Meter Tower. The Public Choice Award for best short film went to Joanna Rytel for her film Moms on Fire. The short film awards were handed out at the Best Swedish Short gala January 31.

The Swedish Church’s Angelo Award of 50,000 SEK went to The Girl Who Saved My Life directed by Hogir Hirori and was handed out on February 2.

The City of Gothenburg Award of 50,000 SEK was awarded to My Skinny Sister. The director Sanna Lenken received the award at the festival opening on January 29.

Mai Zetterling Artist Foundation Stipend with a prize sum of 200,000 SEK went to Linda Västrik and was also handed out at the festival’s opening ceremony.