The Lorens Award

The Lorens award is given out for the 9th time to the best producer by Focus Film and Kodak.

The award is named after the legendary producer Lorens Malmstedt, thanks to whom Ingmar Bergman amongst others were discovered and is given to highlight the best in our industry, but also to inspire and further the growth of innovative and bold producers with a great interest for the art.

This year’s Lorens Award for best producer goes to Anton Máni SvanssonLise Orheim Stender, Jesper Morthorst and Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson, for Heartstone.

The prize is awarded in cooperation with Focus Film and Kodak, and consists of 50 rolls of 35mm film and development for the producers next film.  The nominees are all films in the Dragon Award Best Nordic Film competition.

This years jury consisted of Jacob Niiendam, CPH PIX Festival Director, Rebecka Lafrenz Producer Garagefilm, Ali Boriri CEO Focus Film

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a group of producers who have mastered the organic sensitivity in film. In a beautifully coherent production we get an effortless portrait of the search of one’s identity in a con-servative society. This film is a great example of a successful Nordic collaboration.

Previous winners:

2016 Emma Åkesdotter Ronge for the film Yarden
2014 Lars Jönsson for the film Vi är bäst
2013 Malik Bendjelloul for Searching for Sugar Man
2012 Josefine Tengblad for Kyss mig
2011 Mimmi Spång and Rebecka Lafrenz for Sebbe
2010 Kristina Åberg for Metropia
2009 Erik Hemmendorff for De ofrivilliga och En enastående studie i mänsklig förnedring
2008 Fredrik Heinig for Darling